25 years service to
the Rugby League


The draw for the opening rounds of the men´s and women´s 2023 Challenge Cups was made on Thursday night at Wembley Stadium, the venue for the final of both competitions in a double header in seven months’ time.

The balls were drawn by Kai Pearce-Paul from holders, Wigan Warriors and Eboni Partington from the Women´s cup holders, St Helens.

The draws were made as follows.

The Men´s draw for the first round consisted of 36 community clubs and theeighteen winners would then be joined in the second round by twenty more clubs comprising amateur sides from the Premier League of the National Championship and ten sides from Championship One.

Men´s Draw

Round 1 – 11/12 February

Fryston Warriors v Thornhill Trojans

Featherstone Lions v Great Britain Police

Skirlaugh v Wests Warriors

Hull Dockers v Rhondda Outlaws

London Chargers v North Herts Crusaders

Doncaster Toll Bar v RAF

Hammersmith Hills Hoists v Dublin City Exiles

Brentwood Eels v Bedford Tigers

Stanningley v Milford

Royal Navy v Barrow Island

West Bowling v Waterhead

Westgate Common v Crosfields

British Army v Ashton Bears

Edinburgh Eagles v Saddleworth Rangers

Wigan St Pats v Ince Rose Bridge

Distington v Orrell St James

Heworth v Oulton Raiders

Jarrow Vikings v Myton Warriors


Round 2 – 25/26 February

Jarrow Vikings/Myton Warriors v Leigh Miners Rangers

Skirlaugh/Wests Warriors v London Chargers/North Herts Crusaders

Hull Dockers/Rhondda Outlaws v Midlands Hurricanes

British Army/Ashton Bears v Dewsbury Rams

Fryston Warriors/Thornhull Trojans v Stanningley/Milford

Workington Town v Wigan St Pats/Ince Rose Bridge

Rochdale Hornets v London Skolars

Distington/Orrell St James v Hammersmith Hills Hoists/Dublin City Exiles

Cornwall v Rochdale Mayfield

Hunslet v Heworth/Oulton Raiders

Siddal v West Hull

Brentwood Eels/Bedford Tigers v Wash Brow Hornets

North Wales Crusaders v Royal Navy/Barrow Island

Doncaster Toll Bar/RAF v York Acorn

Lock Lane v West Bowling/Waterhead

Featherstone Lions/GB Police v Westgate Common/Crosfields

Hunslet v Pilkington Recs

Doncaster v Oldham

Edinburgh Eagles/Saddleworth Rangers v Thatto Heath Crusaders


The Women´s competition will start with a pool phase with four groups of four sides from inside and outside the Women´s Superleague.

Women´s Pool Draw – Starts 23rd April

Pool 1 – Featherstone Rovers, Salford Red Devils, Cardiff Demons, Wigan Warriors

Pool 2 – Huddersfield Giants, Bradford Bulls, Oulton Raidettes, Leeds Rhinos

Pool 3 – Warrington Wolves, Castleford Tigers, London Broncos, St Helens

Pool 4 – Barrow Raiders, Leigh Leopards, Hull KR, York Valkyrie

facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
pinterest sharing button
email sharing button
sharethis sharing button

Posted by RLFANS News Hound on Thu 12th Jan 2023 6:45 PM | Views : 39199 | Replies : 0 | BACK TO STORIES