Posted by RLFANS News Hound on Sat 28th Jan 2017 2:38 PM
The Ladbrokes Challenge Cup got underway with an all National Conference League clash between Leigh Miners Rangers and Wigan St Patricks at the Twist Lane ground. The game had been chosen as the focus game of the round and would be shown live by the BBC as part of their enhanced coverage of the 2017 competition.

One of sixteen first round fixtures, the winners would be embarking on a gruelling sequence of games which could see them pitted against semi-pro and then professional sides as they progressed through the competition.

The sides had been evenly matched in the opening exchanges with strong defences foiling attacks from both sides in heavy underfoot conditions. Their were seventeen minutes on the clock when Wigan St Patricks opened the scoring when Jack Winnard went down the left wing to go over in the corner. James Ratcliffe brilliantly kicked the conversion from the touchline for a 6-0 lead.

Mike Scrivens was sin-binned for St Patricks just after the half-hour for a high tackle, and two minutes later Rangers Michael O'Boyle found space wide left to step past the Wigan defence and ground. Jonathan Youds failed to add the conversion.

Just before the interval, Leigh conceded a penalty on their own twenty after interference at the play-the-ball which Youds kicked to level up the scores at 6-6.

Four minutes into the second half and St Patricks centre Danny Riding found his way over the line despite the attention of Four Leigh tacklers. Radcliffe was well wide with the conversion attempt leaving his side with a four point lead.

On fifty Leigh's Jack Reynolds scored a great individual try with a diagonal run through the St Patricks defence to dive over twenty from the left upright. Youds added the extras for 12-10 to the home side.

A criminal knock-on, in deteriorating conditions, from St Patricks full back Spence gifted possession to Leigh close to the line but the home side couldn't make it count.

St Pats were back in the lead on thirty-three when Phil Mitchell found his way to the line for a solo try, and when James Radcliffe kicked the extras the visitors had a 16-12 lead. Some clumsiness and panic in the closing minutes cost Leigh crucial ball, and St Patricks held on for a narrow victory.

Leigh's Jack Reynolds was named as Man of the Match as his side went out, Wigan St Patricks making it into the second round draw.

Leigh Miners Rangers: Youds (2G), Ashworth, Ratcliffe, Ellis, O'Boyle (T), Reynolds (T), Ward, Bower, Lloyd, Kay, Gray, Nicholson, Farrimond. Subs: Brogan, Rowlands, Philbin, Astley.

Wigan St Patricks: Spence, Radcliffe (2G), Woodcock, Riding (T), Winnard (T), Baxter, Scrivens (SB), Bristoe, Cunningham, Harrison, Higham, Gannon, Mitchell (T). Subs: Griffiths, Ashall, Glover, Leiper.

Referee: Scott Mikalausicas.

Half-Time: 6-6.

Full-Time: 12-16.

Attendance: .
Views : 2266 | Replies : 0 | BACK TO STORIES


POSTSONLINEMEMBERSRECORD (DATE)
4,524,4502,07375,7794,491 (28-03-2016)
Google Analytics Unique Monthly Users : 118,226 (May 2016)
DOWNLOAD OUR NEW ANDROID APP CLICK HERE!
YOUR CLUB : Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
R
L
F
A
N
A
L
Y
T
I
C
S


Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
Change these prefs/or turn this off...

FIXTURES/RESULTS

W/D/L DATE COMP HOME AWAY
Sun 23rd Jul SL WAK STS
Thu 6th Jul SL WAK CAS
Sat 1st Jul SL WAK WAR
Sun 11th Jun SL WAK LEE
Fri 26th May SL WAK HUD
Sun 30th Apr SL WAK CAS
Mon 17th Apr SL WAK WIG
Fri 7th Apr SL WAK WID
Thu 23rd Mar SL WAK LEI
Sun 12th Mar SL WAK SAL
L Sun 12th Feb SL WAK 8 12 HFC
L Fri 23rd Sep SL STS 32 12 WAK
L Fri 2nd Sep SL CAS 46 22 WAK
L Sun 21st Aug SL WID 40 8 WAK
L Fri 5th Aug SL WIG 60 12 WAK
W Sat 16th Jul SL CAT 28 30 WAK
L Fri 8th Jul SL WIG 22 18 WAK
W Sun 12th Jun SL HUD 2 10 WAK
L Fri 27th May SL SAL 38 8 WAK
W Fri 29th Apr SL WID 16 18 WAK
W Mon 28th Mar SL LEE 16 20 WAK
L Fri 18th Mar SL HFC 22 4 WAK
L Fri 11th Mar SL STS 44 4 WAK
L Fri 26th Feb SL WAR 34 16 WAK
W Sun 21st Feb SL HKR 12 14 WAK
L Sun 14th Feb SL CAS 40 6 WAK
Tab two Tab three

Copyrite RLFanalytics 2016
LOGIN HERE
or REGISTER for more features!.
  Thu 23rd Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
HULL FC
v
CATALANSTV  
  Fri 24th Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
LEIGH
v
ST. HELENS  
  Fri 24th Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
LEEDS
v
SALFORD  
  Fri 24th Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
WARRINGTON
v
CASTLEFORD  
 > Fri 24th Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
HUDDERSFIELD
v
WAKEFIELD < 
  Fri 24th Feb : 20:00
SL-R2
WIGAN
v
WIDNESTV  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
DEWSBURY
v
LONDON  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
SHEFFIELD
v
BATLEY  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
ROCHDALE
v
HALIFAX  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
SWINTON
v
FEATHERSTONE  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
BRADFORD
v
TOULOUSE  
  Sun 26th Feb : 15:00
CH-R4
HULL KR
v
OLDHAM  
  Thu 2nd Mar : 09:05
NRL-R1
CRONULLA
v
BRISBANETV  
  Thu 2nd Mar : 20:00
SL-R3
CASTLEFORD
v
LEEDSTV  
  Fri 3rd Mar : 07:00
NRL-R1
CANTERBURY
v
MELBOURNETV